My New Timewise 610 Clock

After several years of looking around, I was finally able to buy a Timewise clock.  These clocks hardly ever seem to be offered for sale, so when recently I had an opportunity to purchase one on an online auction site, I was a willing bidder and subsequently successful bidder.  The clock that I  purchased was a Timewise 61o.  This is an older clock as I believe that the Timewise 610 was first built in 1991.  I expect that my clock is 20 years old or more.  However these clocks are still the most widely used clocks in car rallying in the USA, including in Sports Car Club of America events.  These clocks were also used for the timing controls the Penn-York Rally last weekend as sanctioned by the Northeast Rally Club.  At Timewise, the Timewise 610 clocks were replaced by the newer Timewise 650 clocks.

Timewise 610 Clock

Despite the age of this clock, I knew that the clock would be in good shape because I was easily able to figure out who the seller was and I know him.  He lives 20 to 25 miles from me and he has good rally equipment.

The prime reason for me to buy this clock is that many rallymasters use this model of clock as their official clock with all rally control time clocks being synchronized with that clock.  The SCCA allows competitors to also use direct wire synchronization with the rallymaster’s clock.  And there are secondary synchronization benefits, as competitors with synced Timewise clocks can also wire sync their Timewise rally computers to their Timewise clock.  Now I can do this as well.  I argued against this rule as I thought that it unfairly favored those who were able to acquire (which as I said before is difficult to do) a Timewise clock, but the overwhelming ( I wondered how many of people who voted for this rule already had their own Timewise clocks?) vote was to continue to allow this unfair advantage, so for me it was just a matter of “if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em”.  Does this make me a hypocrite? Probably, but at least I’m admitting it and raising the veil on this unfair practice.

The Timewise 610 Is A Simple To Use Clock

The Timewise 610 is a rather straightforward clock to use.  It is a time-of-day clock only, with no stopwatch capabilities.  The Timewise 610 can be set to give the time in seconds or 1/100 minute.  A custom feature that the previous owner had installed was to deactivate the sound that the clock made when the time was split.  The explanation was that when using a Curta calculator to check the pace of a rally car, the required frequent time checks caused many split noises coming from the clock which became annoying.

My Timewise 610 is powered by 4 AA batteries, although there was an option available to be able to power it by a 6 volt remote power source, but this feature is not on my clock.  Apparently the AA batteries will last about one year, or at least should be changed once per year.

The Little Push Button Between the Split and Recall Buttons Will Light Up The Clock Display

The time-of-day display can be temporarily be backlit by pushing the little button between the red Split button and the black Recall button.  The light will remain activated as long as the button is pushed.  Using this light feature however will have a detrimental effect on the AA battery life.

The Timewise 610 is often used as a control clock with a rubber timing line pressure hose connected to the remote split connection on the Timewise 610.  As a result, when a car drives over the rubber hose, the remote split is activated thereby capturing the time.  Up to 10 split times can be stored in the Timewise 610.  I will be assembling my own remote split switch for in-car use.

The clock is rather easy to use in the car as it is only about 4-inches wide and 3-inches high.  Therefore it is easy to find a place on the dash for this clock.

The clock came with an Operators Manual which makes using this clock quite easy.

The Timewise 610 Operators Manual

To see the operating manual for this clock click on the following file:

Timewise 610 Manual

In summary, I am very pleased to have been able to acquire this clock and add it to my navigator’s tool kit.

If you have any comments or questions about this post or the Timewise 610 clock. then leave a comment below or you can send me a private email message at the following address: shanna12 at comcast dot net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Timewise 610 Clock

  1. Jay Nemeth-Johannes says:

    The button you mention that urns on the light has a secondary function. It also acts as a low battery indicator. As the batteries grow weak, pressing the button will no longer cause the backlight to function. We use it before an event to see if we need to replace batteries.

    Also note that Jack Christianson has moved since the 610 was produced. Look up his address from his website, and don’t use the one on the manual. http://www.timewise.us/

Leave a Reply

