Car Change At the 2017 Baden Classic Rally

I got an email from Harald von Langsdorff this morning who is already in Germany, in part to compete in next weekend’s Baden Classic car rally.  I will be Harald’s navigator for this event.  Harald’s email stated that there is a problem with the 1951 Mercedes-Benz 220 which we had planned on using to compete in the rally.  This problem might not be fixed in time for its use in the rally.

Rather than have to withdraw from the rally, Harald does have a Mercedes-Benz 560SL that we will be able to use in its place.  As much as I was looking forward to competing in the 1951 Mercedes-Benz 220, the Mercedes-Benz 560SL is a fine car.  Harald & I have competed in a rally with a Mercedes-Benz 560SL before.  The picture below shows us at the 2008 Pumpkin Run rally in Millsboro, Delaware.

Harald von Langsdorff & I At The 2008 Pumpkin Run Rally With His Mercedes-Benz 560SL

The Mercedes-Benz 560SL has much more power and, if the weather is good, then we can take the top down.  This newer car will put us in a different competition class, but we can deal with that.  The only real problem is that we will have to figure out how to connect my Prestel+Gemmer odometer to the electronic speedometer in the Mercedes-Benz 560SL.

My Prestel+Gemmer Basic Odometer

Last year we competed in a borrowed Mercedes-Benz 300SL in this rally.  We (mostly me) watched a mechanic connect my Prestel+Gemmer odometer to the Mercedes-Benz electronic speedometer in that car.  I did not make any wiring notes at that time as it was a one-time navigation seat in that car.  Fortunately I remembered, in general, how it was done and Harald has remembered the same thing, so hopefully we will get this sorted out.

Harald & I In A Mercedes-Benz 300SL In The 2016 Baden Classic

If we have a problem, then we are fortunate to have Klaus Prestel and Michael Gemmer also entered into this rally who can help us out.  They competed in this rally last year as well and Harald & I enjoyed having some adult beverages with them last year at the Friday night dinner.

Harald & I With The Prestel+Gemmer Guys (and Lady Gemmer)

If you have any questions or comments about this post or the Baden Classic rally, then leave a comment below or you can send me a private email message at the following address: shanna12 at comcast dot net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Car Change At the 2017 Baden Classic Rally

  1. Cargirl says:

    Steve if that Mercedes does not work out for you you can borrow my 1980 300 CD. I just put a turbo engine in her and she would be awesome. Good luck with the rally and look forward to the updates.

Leave a Reply

