A 1956 Volkswagen Beetle To Compete In The 2017 Mille Miglia

Mark Reynolds of the United Kingdom contacted me by mistake about the 2017 Mille Miglia.  He was looking for some in-person navigation advice about the Mille Miglia.  However he thought that I lived in the Netherlands, so when we sorted that out, he looked for advice closer to home.  Mark did say that he would share some photos and information about his car and he has done just that.

This week Mark sent me a press release that he has prepared along with some photos of his car.  To say that I was surprised would be an under statement.  A Volkswagen Beetle is not the first car that I think of when I think of the Mille Miglia.  But his 1956 Volkswagen Beetle is in the 2017 Mille Miglia when many other more high-end cars are not.  Well played Mr. Reynolds!

The two-page press release that tells the story of his car is below.

.

This 1956 Volkswagen is very well prepared as evidenced from the photos that Mark sent along to me.

The Volkswagen Looks Good!

Volkswagens have competed in the Mille Miglia on many occasions.  And this Volkswagen looks like it is prepared about as well as it can be for the Mille Miglia.  I think that the car will do well.

By 1953 Volkswagen Had Dropped The Split Rear Window For The Oval

While the Volkswagens never had much horsepower, they did not weigh very much either at just over 1,600 pounds.  The reported top speed of the basic standard 1956 Volkswagen sedan was 68 miles per hour.   As can be imagined, these cars were not sold for their performance, but for their fuel consumption which was said to be 32 miles per US gallon.

The 1956 Volkswagen Had A 1,192cc Four-Cylinder Engine

The engine in this Mille Miglia-bound car now has two carburetors compared to the one Solex carburetor on the original 1,192cc horizontally opposed four-cylinder engine.

The Base 1956 Volkswagen Engine Had 36 Horsepower

Mark Reynolds said that he would send me some of his photos after the 2017 Mille Miglia is completed.  I look forward to seeing those.  The more that I look at this car, the better I like it and the more I admire that they were able to get the Volkswagen to be selected to compete in the 2017 Mille Miglia.  I hope that Mark and his son, Josh, do well.  I’m sure that they will have fun.

If you have any questions or comments about this post or the Mille Miglia, then leave a comment below, or you can send me a private email message at the following address: shanna12 at comcast dot net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

