My Rally Board Set Up For The Baden Classic

This year, once again I will be navigating for Harald von Langsdorff in the Baden Classic in Germany.  A change this year is that we will be competing in Harald’s 1951 Mercedes-Benz 220 sedan.  This will likely be the oldest car in the rally.  This car is shown below.

Harald von Langsdorff’s 1951 Mercedes-Benz 220

A challenge for me is that this car has no space on top of the dash for rally navigation equipment.  This is shown in the photo below.  The face of the dash is just below the bottom of the window.

Dash Space Is Limited In This Car

The Baden Classic requires the use of only mechanical or electro-mechanical odometers.  For this reason we will use my Prestel+Gemmer electro-mechanical odometer.  We used this odometer last year in this event and it worked well.  Not only is there a space challenge, there is also a time challenge, as we only have one day to set the car up for the rally.

For these reasons, I have decided that the odometer should be mounted on my rally board.  The result is the setup shown below that I have prepared for my rally board.  As can be seen the odometer is mounted on a stand on my rally board.

My Rally Board For The 2017 Baden Classic

The Prestel+Gemmer odometer has a rocker switch on the underside so it cannot sit flat on the board.  The mount solves that problem plus it gives me access to some board area under the Prestel+Gemmer odometer.  The layout below is nearly the final layout, as I still have some note modifications to the clipboard to be assistance in Germany.  In addition, I recently got a new small atomic clock that gets the official German atomic time signal that I want to add to the rallyboard.

This Mount Raises The Odometer Above The Rally Board

If you have any questions or comments about this post or the Baden Classic, then leave a message below or you can send me a private email message at the following address: shanna12 at comcast dot net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

