My New Herwins Time-Of-Day Dashboard Clock

I continue to add to my rally navigation toolbox by acquiring a Herwins time-of-day dashboard clock.  I have had my eye out for one of these Swiss-made clocks for some time, but they do not seem to come up for sale very often.  I was able to find this Herwins dashboard for sale at a clock specialty business in England.

herwins-clock-2

My Herwins Time-Of-Day Clock

Most of the available high quality dashboard rally clocks are Heuer Master Time clocks.  The Heuer Master Time clocks are nice clocks, no doubt, but in my opinion, the Herwins dashboard clock has several advantages over the Heuer Master Time clock:

  • Less expensive
  • Battery-powered rather than wind-up

The Heuer Master Time clocks almost always sell for more than $1,000, often way more than $1,000. The Herwins dashboard clock can be acquired for less than 50% of the cost of the Heuer, often even less than that.

I like the idea that the Herwins clock is battery-powered.  I have done some testing against my atomic clock and I have found it to be right on after 24 hours and about a second off in 48 hours.  I’ll take that performance over the potential vagaries of a windup clock.

herwins-clock-3

Rotating Bezel Is Easy To Grip

The clock has a rotating bezel that is very useful for several purposes.  For example, the bezel can be used to make quick adjustments to the Herwins clock.  Suppose you are approaching a start of a stage where there is a time-of-day clock on display.  When you compare your clock’s time to the official time, you notice that your clock is two seconds slower than the official clock.  Simply rotate the bezel by two seconds counter-clockwise and your clock will then agree with the official time.  This is a much quicker method and quite possibly more accurate than completely re-setting the clock, especially when you have many other things to take care of before you start a stage, which you could potentially foul-up in your haste to get everything done before it is time to go.

herwins-clock-4

Screws Secure The Herwins Clock To Mounting Plate

The Herwins dashboard clock has a face diameter of about 2-inch (51 mm) which makes it a nice fit in a rally car.  The flat mounting plate can be mounted by screws or even using Velcro.

I am looking forward to using this clock this spring in the Paris-Prague rally.  It will fit in very well with that event.  This time-of-day dashboard clock is also a good match with my Heuer Monte Carlo stopwatch.

heuer-monte-carlo-5

My Herwins Time-Of-Day Clock Will Partner With My Heuer Monte Carlo Stopwatch

In summary, I am very pleased to have acquired this high quality clock.  If you have any comments or questions about this clock or this post, then leave a comment below or you can send me a private email message at the following address: shanna12 at comcast dot net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

