Wanted: Halda Calibration Gears

Last week I got an email from Greg Lester about my recent post regard Halda calibration gears.  Greg is the real deal when it comes to rallying.  He has done just about everything in rallying and is always competitive in any rally he is in.  Among other things, I think that he won the Alcan 5000 once.  In addition, he is a very good rallymaster, putting on the Ohio Winter Rally and the Johnny Appleseed Rally in the northeast Ohio area.

Another interesting thing about Greg that I found out a few years ago during a conversation with him at the Johnny Appleseed Rally was that he is an engineer who works at designing and installing pipe organs.  He has worked in churches all around the world.  I have never met anyone else who works in that field.

Anyway, Greg has a significant collection of older rally equipment.  My post about the Halda calibration gears caused him to email me asking if I had any duplicate Halda calibration gears that I would be interested trading with him.  Greg already has several complete Halda gear sets and a partial set that he is trying to complete.  He also has some duplicates that he is willing to trade on a one for one basis.

The following are the gears that Greg is looking for:

Z-Gears: 48, 58

X-Gears: 119, 122, 124, 125, 126, 132, 133, 138, 139, 142, 144, 145, 146, 150

I responded to Greg that I was in no position to trade as I did not have any duplicate gears. I can only buy gears – not trade for them. To my surprise in today’s mail, there was a letter from Greg wishing me a Merry Christmas and containing two useful X-gears that I needed, 121 and 140.  In the letter with the gears, Greg said that I can send him a couple of replacements in exchange when I am in a position to do so.

I would like to repay Greg for his generosity by completing my side of the transaction in the foreseeable future.  Therefore, I am looking for a couple of gears that are on Greg’s “Need List”, so that I can send them to Greg.  If you have any of these gears and are interested in parting with them at a reasonable price, please contact me at the following email address: shanna12 at comcast dot net

If you want to do some direct trading with Greg Lester, send me an email at the above address and I can put you in contact with Greg.  In the past, Greg has traded gears with folks in the UK, Germany, Australia, and Austria, and may have sources for a few other gears if you are interested.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

