My Latest Rally Book Took Me 15 Years To Obtain

The newest rally book that I bought as a Christmas gift to myself, is a book that I first wanted to buy 15 years ago.  About 2002, I first went down to Australia to work for an extended period of time on an engineering project.  During some down time that I had one Sunday afternoon, I walked into a second-hand shop in Sydney.  The shop was selling a very lightly used copy of “Rally” by Reinhard Klein for $50AUS, which at that time translated into about $30US.  I thought that the price was fair, but this is a heavy book.  Large size.  Lots of pages.  High quality paper.

I was concerned that ithe book might put my luggage over the allowed weight limit, so after much page turning and internal arguing, I returned the book to the book shelf and reluctantly left it behind.  For years I had regretted that decision, but then a couple of weeks ago,  another opportunity to purchase this book came along.  I was not going to walk away from this opportunity to get the book and I didn’t.

rally-klein-book-cover

Reinhard Klein’s Wonderful “Rally” Book

This book was written in 1998 and while the early rally competition years are covered in a cursory way, the book focusses on the period from 1970 to 1997.  This is a 400 page oversize book that contains hundreds of wonderful rally photographs.  The photo on the cover shows Kankkunen/Pironen flying high in a Toyota Celica Turbo 4WD during the 1993 Safari Rally.

The picture below of Ragnotti winning the 1981 Monte Carlo Rally is of interest to me because Jean Ragnotti will also be competing in the 2017 Rallye Monte Carlo Historique.  He will still be driving a Renault, only this time it will be a Renault 8 Gordini.  I hope to see him there.

ragnotti-at-monte-1981

Jean Ragnotti/Andrie Driving A Renault 5 Turbo To Victory In The 1981 Monte Carlo Rally

In the early 1960s the Minis were the dominant car at the Monte Carlo Rally.  The picture below from Klein’s book shows Makinen/Easter on their way to winning the snowy 1965 Monte Carlo Rally.

makinen-at-monte-1965

Makinen/Easter Winning The 1965 Monte Carlo Rally

The picture below shows another Mini driver, Rauno Aaltonen, left, at the 1966 Tulip Rally with his co-driver, Henry Liddon.  The following year Aaltonen/Liddon also won the Monte Carlo Rally in a Mini.  Aaltonen is still very active in rallying and he will be driving a Mini in the 2017 Rallye Monte Carlo Historique.

aaltonen-at-tulip-rally

Rauno Aaltonen/Henry Liddon Winners at The 1966 Tulip Rally In A Mini

This book by Reinhard Klein is chock full of rally pictures and it is certainly a welcome addition to my library.  It took me a long time to get this book, but I’m glad that I finally got it.

If you have any questions or comments about the book or this post, then please leave a comment below or you can send me a private email message at the following address: shanna12 at comcast dot net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

