Success At The Swedish Car Day At Larz Anderson Museum

Today, August 28, 2016 was 17th annual Swedish Car Day at the Larz Anderson Museum of Transportation in Brookline, Massachusetts.  I have attended this show several times in the past, but today I went primarily to take a close look at a Volvo PV544, as there are always a few of these cars at this show.  I am somewhat familiar with this car, but I have never sat in one before  or considered issues like what is the best way to mount rally navigational equipment in these cars.  For the 2017 Rallye Monte Carlo Historique I will be navigating in a Volvo PV544, therefore I thought that going to the Swedish Car Day would provide me with the opportunity to take a close look at a Volvo PV544 and consider these issues with the real car.  And I was right.

253_SCD17_FINAL

Before I get to the story about the Volvo PV544, there are a couple of other cars at the show that caught my eye during the rather short time that I was at the show.  One of these cars was the blue Saab Sonett that is shown below.

IMG_3156

Saab Sonett

Perhaps the most interesting car at the show was the Chevrolet Nova that was originally, apparently, powered by a 350 cubic inch V8 engine.  If you look carefully at the picture below, then you will see an image of a prancing moose on the front grille.  This is a clue to what is there now.

IMG_3157

Chevrolet Nova With A Surprise!

The picture below is a close up of the current engine in this Chevrolet Nova.  I don’t know enough about Volvo engines to know what the current Volvo engine in this car is, but it sure took me by surprise.  And it is definitely not a 350 cubic inch V8 engine!

IMG_3158

Chevrolet Nova Powered By Volvo

As noted previously, the car that I really wanted to see was the 1962 Volvo PV544 Sport shown below.  This car is very similar to the 1961 Volvo PV544 that I will be navigating in at the 2017 Rallye Monte Carlo Historique.  This car is owned by Charlie Boyd of Waltham, MA, who I had the pleasure of meeting at the show.

IMG_3139

Charlie Boyd’s 1962 Volvo PV 544 Sport

I approached Charlie at the show and I explained that I would like to take a close look at his car in order to be better prepared for the 2017 Rallye Monte Carlo Historique.  Charlie was sympathetic to my request and even allowed me to sit in his car.  He also explained to me the purpose of the ring on the end of the chain below the radio and also what the purpose was of the red button, also below the radio and ash try.

By allowing me to sit in the car, I was able to come up with an initial plan for mounting my rally navigation in a Volvo PV544 for the Rallye Monte Carlo Historique.

IMG_3138

Dash Of Charlie Boyd’s PV 544

I also took this opportunity to take a close look at the Volvo B18 engine that is in the PV544.  This engine has a good reputation of being a reliable engine in Volvos and other cars.  This engine in Charlis Boyd’s PV544 is shown below.

IMG_3135

Volvo B18 Engine

So you can see I had a successful day and I am pleased that I happened to meet Charlie Boyd, who was very generous with his time and car.

If you have any comments or questions regarding this post, then leave a comment below or send me a private email message at the following address: shanna12 at comcast dot net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Success At The Swedish Car Day At Larz Anderson Museum

  1. Greg G says:

    There is a fellow in the local area who has been bringing his 544 to shows and cruise ins. He purchased it in 1963 while stationed in Italy with the army. When he returned stateside he had the car shipped back. He had occasion to return to Europe for extended periods twice more each time taking the Volvo with him. The car shows 325000 + miles with the only work on the engine being on the head valves and seats for use with unleaded gas. Looks good and sounds nice through its performance exhaust. I had a 65 122S that I used for local and regional TDS rallys and the occasional auto cross. I converted Olaf The Slow from an automatic to a four speed car and it had about 175K miles when I sold it on. Very reliable and trouble free car. Hope you enjoy your experience.

Leave a Reply

