My New Stopwatch And Clock Accessories

Several weeks ago I purchased a Smiths Rally Clock on eBay from David Scothorn who does business on eBay under the commercial name “autonavia”.  In addition to forwarding the Smiths Rally Clock, he included two rally clock mounts and a Chronos battery-powered time-of-day clock.  I posted a message about the Smiths Rally Clock on September 21, 2015.

An interesting aspect of the mounting plates is that watch decals have been added to each mounting plate.  The single clock mounting plate is shown below.

Clock Mount Single

Single Clock Mount

This single clock mount is a 2-1/4″ x 2-1/4″ x 3/8″ metal block that is pre-drilled for a four-bolt mount onto a dash or a navigator’s rally board.  The block will suit a typical stopwatch.  The decal on the block is more visually interesting than a plain metal block if the clock is removed from the car between rallies.

The double watch mount is 4-4/8″ x 3-1/8″ x 3/32″ is not pre-drilled which provides for the maximum flexibility to the driver for mounting options.  David provided some Velcro with the mounts.  This double mount includes real size decal images of a Heuer Master Time Clock and a Heuer Monte Carlo stopwatch.  I have a Heuer Monte Carlo stopwatch, but I do not have a Heuer Master Time time-of-day clock.

Clock Mount Double

Double Clock Mount

I have not yet decided on the final use for these clock mounts, but I have several clock that could use these mounts, therefore I know they will be used.

The package from David Scothorn also included a very nice Chronos Classic time-of-day clock.  The battery-powered clock has a 43mm diameter face which is big enough to be easily read in the cockpit of a car, yet small enough to be easily located.  And it looks great!

Chronos Clock

Chronos Time-Of-Day Clock

The Chronos Classic clock needed a mount.  I wanted a mount with a flat back that the Chronos clock would fit into, so I fabbed something up with some pieces of Lexan that I had on hand and some hand tools.  The result is shown below.  I will likely rebuild this mount in the future with better materials and fewer pieces to improve the quality, but I have established my basic approach.

Chronos Clock In Mount

Chronos Clock In Mount

The clock is set into the homemade mount using Velcro.  This way I will be able to easily remove the clock to access the crown stem in order to synchronize the clock with the event clock.  I also added Velcro to the back of the mount so that I can locate the mount by using either longer screws or the Velcro to a car’s dash or on my rally board.  As I navigate in rallies in various cars and circumstances, mounting flexibility is very important to me.

I like the idea that this is a battery-powered clock as it keeps time a little better than a wind-up clock.  I am pleased that I have this clock.

For David’s contact information refer to my post about the Smiths Rally Clock on September 21, 2015.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Stopwatch And Clock Accessories

  1. Bob Terpstra says:

    I know you’re in business to sell rally-related items, but I hope you’ll give me the benefit of your broad knowledge in the field to advise me on a Heuer timing device I’ve just inherited.

    I’m getting ready to sell it on eBay, but I don’t know how to make it work. I think that’s because it’s batteries are run down. Can you tell me: Does the device run on batteries? If so, how does one get to them?

    You might be interested to know that my device also calibrates altitude by means of barometric pressure. Its display is a bit more complicated than others I’ve seen. It has the plate that attaches to dashboard of plane or car.

    Thanks in advance,

    Bob Terpstra
    Editor, Writer, Blogger
    Boynton Beach, FL

    • Hi Bob,
      I am not in business to sell rally related items. I am a user of rally related items and I comment on the products that I use. Occasionally I include notices that people I know have rally equipment for sale. Send me a picture(s) of your timing device and I’ll offer any advice that I can. My email address is as follows: shanna12 at comcast dot net
      Steve McKelvie

Leave a Reply

