How I Spent My Summer Vacation In 2015

This past week I have mostly been on vacation at a cottage that we had rented on a lake in New Hampshire.  It was a great vacation spent with my daughter and son-in-law and my nine-month old granddaughter.  Other friends joined us at the cottage for shorter visits during the week which was also very enjoyable.

IMG_0853

Sunrise Last Sunday Morning

The lake where we stayed was very nice and was used as the location for the filming of the old Henry Fonda and Katharine Hepburn movie “On Golden Pond”.

IMG_0856

Early Morning Mist Rising From The Lake

We spent most of the week just relaxing which was very nice.  I did do some work-related activities during the week, but somehow it just didn’t seem like work in this setting.

IMG_0860

View Of The Lake From The Cottage

The focal point of the vacation was our new granddaughter.  She is a real joy!

IMG_0939

My Granddaughter Enjoying A Boat Ride On Lake Winnipesaukee

I did not take part in any car-related activities all week, but I did see a lovely wooden boat  based out of Wolfeboro, New Hampshire.  Old wooden boats are very impressive vehicles; very much like the “woodie” station wagons of the 1930s and 1940s.

IMG_0936
Nicest Go-Fast Vehicle I Saw All Week

The week’s vacation  was quite nice, but I also enjoy the other things that I do in my life so today I return to what passes for my “normal” life ready for anything.  This is the sign of a great vacation re-setting your life.  My first task is to get caught up with the things that I set aside last week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How I Spent My Summer Vacation In 2015

  1. Shanna McKelvie says:

    You forgot to mention that your wife was also there..

  2. Rich Bireta says:

    Steve,

    I enjoy reading your blogs – automotive or non-automotive. Thanks for a nice change of pace.

    Rich Bireta

    • Thanks Rich for the comment. I plan on staying pretty much focused on my usual automotive and motorcycle topics, but in addition I wanted to explain why there were no updates to my website in the past week. I was having too much fun doing nothing.
      Steve McKelvie

Leave a Reply

