Random Photos From My Trip To Germany

I was looking at some of the photos that I took during my recent trip to Germany and thought that I would pick out some photos related to some of the things that we did during the trip rather than some of the more straight forward car photos that I usually post.

Part of Harald von Langsdorff’s purpose for going to Germany was that he was doing a European delivery of a 2015 Mercedes-Benz GLA AMG car.  This is a smaller Mercedes-Benz with 4-wheel drive and a 2-liter turbocharged 4-cylinder engine with 355 horsepower making it accelerate from 0 to 60 miles per hour in 4.8 seconds.  The low miles on the engine kept us from opening this car up.  Once it is broken in, this car will be a quite a ride.

IMG_8972

Harald & Gil von Langsdorff With Their New Mercedes-Benz GLA AMG

Because Harald was picking the car up in Germany, the Mercedes-Benz folks organized a tour for us of the Mercedes-Benz factory in Rastatt.  They had a nice customer welcome center and treated us very well.  In the welcome center they had a Mercedes-Benz Formula 1 car on display.  It was nice to get a close look at one of the Silver Arrows.

IMG_8986

Mercedes-Benz Formula 1 Car

After the tour, the folks from Mercedes-Benz wanted to see Harald’s 1958 220S Cabriolet and get a photo of it along with his new GLA AMG.

IMG_8993

Harald’s 220S and GLA AMG and Our Group At The M-B Factory in Rastatt

In the picture above, our group included from left to right, Klaus (a classmate of Harald’s from engineering school), Harald, Gil, their son Sebastian, Peter Spitzer, and John Geist.  Peter and John are members of the Toronto Section of the Mercedes-Benz Club of America, where Harald is the president.

In preparation for the rally Harald and I got his 220S car scrutinized for use in the Baden Classic rally at the local soccer club facility in Michelbach.  At that facility they had a restaurant where Harald and I thought that we would get some food and a beer.  I decided to get an American-style hamburger.  They had three sizes – a 200mm diameter, a 280mm diameter, and a 350mm diameter burger.  I decided to get the small hamburger as shown below. I never bothered to ask if they served fries with that.  Even though it was the small size, it was the biggest burger that I had ever seen!

IMG_9018

The Hamburger Was 8-inches Across!

The hamburger had bacon on it, but because of the size of the burger, it had about 6 or 8 strips of bacon on it!  For comparison purposes, I placed my Swiss Army Knife beside the plate.

Much of the route of the Baden Classic rally was through the Black Forest area of Germany.  I was generally too busy navigating to take photos of the route, but in one place we had a rather straight-forward route instruction where I was able to get my camera out and get some quick photos.

IMG_9109

Some Scenery Along The Rally Route

The roads were quite good and usually had lots of curves.  All of the roads were paved and many of the roads were narrower than the road shown below.

IMG_9110

View Out The Windshield During The Baden Classic Rally

After the rally was over, Gil, John, and Peter, as well as others were there to greet us in Michelbach as shown below.

IMG_9121

Scene At The End Of The Rally

While we were in Germany we stayed in a castle – a real castle, the Alte Schloss in Baden-Baden.  The front door of the castle is shown below.

IMG_9142

The View Out The Front Door Of Our “Castle”

For a couple of nights we had the whole place to ourselves!

These were a few of the non directly related car photos that I took during the trip.  It was a great trip especially when combined with taking part in a car rally.  Later I will have pictures of the rally, our trip to the Jim Clark Historic Revival at Hockenheim, and our visit to Carl Benz’ original workshop.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Photos From My Trip To Germany

  1. Cargirl says:

    I live my rallying life vicariously through you. Which is a good thing because that hamburger would give me a heart attack.

    • For both our sakes, I hope that I don’t cause you to have a vicarious heart attack! It was a huge hamburger to be sure and it was the small one on the menu. The place was aptly named the XXL Grill.
      Steve McKelvie

Leave a Reply

