Rain Triumphs At Larz Anderson’s Day Of Triumph

This past Sunday I drove to the Larz Anderson Museum of Transportation in Brookline, MA.  This was actually a very big deal for me as I recently injured my eye such that it required plastic surgery on my eye lid and I have been suffering from double vision.  But my vision is improving steadily, if not quickly, so that I now feel comfortable driving the car, at least over familiar roads.

At Larz Anderson they were holding the annual Day of Triumph which not surprisingly focuses on Triumph cars.  Due to the length and competiveness of the Hungarian Grand Prix, as a result of Safety Car events, I left the house a little later than I wanted to in the morning.  I got to the Larz Anderson Museum about 3 minutes before the rain got there.

As would be expected, the rain and rumors of rain had a noticeable effect on the number of cars that were present.  For a few minutes the rain was light and not a particular problem, but after a while the rain intensified somewhat.  I only took a few pictures of some cars and soon left.  The rain won because I did not have the patience to wait for it to end.  And I wanted to drive back home, just to confirm that my eyes were getting better.

I have included a selection of a few of the pictures that I took of the Triumphs that were at the Day of Triumph.

Triumph TR7 Rally Car (1)

TR7 Rally Car

This Triumph TR7 rally car was presented in a livery that is reminiscent of the Triumph TR7s that were rallied by such notables as Tony Pond and John Buffum.

Triumph 2000 1966 (7)

1966 Triumph 2000

The Triumph 2000 was an interesting car that was a junior version of the fuel injected 2.5 liter Triumph 2500 PI which competed so effectively in the 1970 World Cup Rally.

Triumph 2.5 PI

Andrew Cowan & Co-Driver Brian Coyle In A Triumph 2.5 PI In The World Cup Rally

The picture above from Graham Robson’ s “World Cup Rally 40” book shows a rally-prepared Triumph 2.5 PI (PI stood for Petrol Injection) waiting to check in at a time control in Vienna.

Triumph TR3 (3)

Triumph TR 3

There were several Triumph TR3A cars present, but only one of the earlier TR3 models.  This TR3 looked great!

Triumph TR3A (2)

Triumph TR3A

The whitewall tires make this Triumph TR3 look quite formal.

Triumph TR4A IRS (2)

Triumph TR4A IRS

The Triumph TR4A with independent rear suspension is a great example of a 1960s sports car.  These cars have a “muscular” look to them.

Triumph TR8 (3)

Triumph TR8

The Triumph TR8 is almost indistinguishable from the Triumph TR7 except for the decals on the outside of the TR8.  The TR8 is powered by a 3.5 liter V8 engine.

Triumph TR250 (2)

Perhaps My North American Favorite Triumph, The TR250

The Triumph TR250 is essentially the Triumph TR4A fitted with the 2.5 liter TR6 engine.  This was a carburetted engine.  The English cars had essentially the same engine but with with PI (Petrol Injection) added.  The English cars were known as the TR5.

It was unfortunate that rain dampened this event.  I guess I’ll have to go back next year to see a lawn full of Triumph cars.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

