Looking For Information About The 1954 Great American Mountain Rally

I am working on an issue related to the 1954 running of the Great American Mountain Rally.  I believe that in 1954 this was the only FIA listed rally in the USA.  I understand that the Rootes Group entered at least two Sunbeam Alpines in this rally.  One for Sir Stirling Moss and the other for Shiela Van Damm.  I do not know who won the rally, but I believe that the Sunbeam Alpines won the team prize.

I understand that the rally was a 1,000 mile long rally in the New England area that was held in November, 1954.  The rally took place in other years as well, 1955 and 1957, I believe.

I am looking for more information about the 1954 running of the Great American Mountain Rally.  Specifically I am looking for photos or other descriptive information about the two (or more) Sunbeam Alpine entries.  If anyone can help me or knows some one who could help me then please leave a comment under this message or send me an email at:  shanna12 at comcast dot net

Thanks in advance for any help in this matter.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking For Information About The 1954 Great American Mountain Rally

  1. I want to add a correction to the post. I said that in addition to 1954 that the rally was also held in 1955 and 1957. I now believe that it was also held in 1953 and 1957. I want to thank Sunbeam Alpine enthusiast Derek Cook for forwarding some information, about the 1953 & 1954 events. Also I want to particularly thank racer and rally competitor, Patrick Vanson, (4th in 1964 Monte Carlo with Timo Makinen among other things) for great information and a very enjoyable personal telephone call regarding rallying and Sunbeam Alpines.
    Steve McKelvie

Leave a Reply

