Triumph Returns To Victory At Daytona!

Triumph is back!  A Triumph motorcycle racer, Danny Eslick, dominated last weekend’s 73rd Daytona 200 AMA Pro GoPro Daytona SportBike race at Daytona International Speedway, winning from the pole and leading 44 of the 57 laps.  This victory came 47 years after the last Triumph victory at the Daytona 200 by Gary Nixon in 1967.

Triumph Daytona 200 Winner 2014

 Danny Eslick Won The 2014 Daytona 200 On A Triumph 675 (Brian Nelson photo)

For Triumph, this was the last chance to win at Daytona with the Daytona 675 model.  Next year the Daytona 200 returns to the SuperBike class.

Triumph-Daytona-675-SE (2)

Stock Triumph 675 Daytona

As a Triumph motorcycle owner and as someone interested in the Triumph motorcycles of the 1960s, I thought that I would include an image of Gary Nixon’s 1967 Daytona 200 winning motorcycle.

triumph nixon

A “Tribute” Version Of Gary Nixon’s 1967 Daytona 200 Winning Motorcycle

In 1967 500cc motorcycles were raced in the Daytona 200.  Triumph had a 500cc T100R twin-cylinder motorcycle that was modified for the race and it was the dominant the dominant motorcycle.  Another Triumph finished 2nd to Gary Nixon in 1967.

Triumph T100R Daytona 1967

1967 Triumph 500 T100R Daytona

The top 10 finishers in this year’s Daytona 200 are listed below:

AMA Pro Daytona SportBike Daytona 200 Results 2014

1. Danny Eslick (Triumph)
2. Jake Gagne (Yamaha)
3. Jake Lewis (Yamaha)
4. Bobby Fong (Triumph)
5. Garrett Gerloff (Yamaha)
6. Kyle Wyman (Yamaha)
7. Luke Stapleford (Triumph)
8. Jake Zemke (Honda)
9. Bostjan Skubic (Yamaha)
10. Steve Rapp (Triumph)

It is clear that the Daytona 200 race in 2014 was mainly a race between Triumph and Yamaha.  The other thing that I noticed about this list of the top 10 finishers is that if your first name is “Jake” then you had a good finish!

It is good to see that Triumph is a winner at a major racing event, again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Triumph Returns To Victory At Daytona!

  1. mike says:

    That is not Gary Nixons 1967 Daytona winning Triumph.
    easily to prove with serial numbers.

    • I have been in contact with Mike via private email and I have become convinced that he owns the actual winning Gary Nixon Triumph. The Triumph shown in the post and presented, by others, as the Gary Nixon Triumph is actually a “tribute” bike and I have modified the description under the photograph to reflect that.
      Steve McKelvie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s