I’m Driving At The Frost Heaves Rally This Weekend

The weekend I am going to do something at a car rally that I haven’t done in over 10 years – drive.  Yes this weekend, March 1, 2014, at the Frost Heaves rally I will be driving instead of navigating.  The reason is that I will be providing real-time “hands on” instruction in the use of a Timewise 798A rally computer to Andrew Male, who will be my navigator.

Andrew is an experienced navigator who has competed in the Mille Miglia rally on 11 occasions in a Maserati.  At the Mille Miglia rally for the past number of years, the organizers have only used a “Monte Carlo” timing method.  This year the Mille Miglia organizers have added 6 controls which will be hidden controls with timing based on an average speed.  That timing approach is rather new to Andrew and so at the Frost Heave rally Andrew will get an opportunity to experience this type of timing and a rally computer well suited for this type of timing.

The Frost Heaves rally will be a straight-forward Time-Speed-Distance rally of approximately 140 miles of both paved and unpaved New Hampshire back roads.  Frost Heaves will start in Milford, New Hampshire.  A tulip diagram format will be used for the route instructions.

IMG_6710

A New Hampshire Rally Car Ready To Go

Frost Heaves is hosted by the New England Region of the Sports Car Club of America (NER/SCCA) and is well suited for inexperienced as well as veteran rallyists.  No summer tires allowed and winter rated tires strongly suggested.

The rally will start at the Burger King, at 565 Nashua St. (Rt. 101A), in Milford, New Hampshire.  Registration will take place from 7:15AM to 8:30AM and the first car will be away at 9:00AM, plus car number.  Lunch will be in Jaffery, New Hampshire.  The rally finish will be at TGI Friday, 124 Rt. 101A in Amherst, New Hampshire.

The Frost Heaves rally will be run in compliance with the 2007 NER-SCCA Rally Regulations (amended 2010).  These are available on www.ner.org .  General Instructions are available by clicking on the attached file below.

2014FrostHeavesGenerals

For additional information it is possible to call the rallymaster, Scott Beliveau at  603-455-2791, or e-mail questions to beliveau@aavid.com

Look for me driving a grey Subaru Outback trying to keep it on time while showing Andrew how to use a fairly complex rally computer.  We don’t expect to do well as the purpose of this outing is purely for instruction purposes, but I’m sure that we’ll have fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m Driving At The Frost Heaves Rally This Weekend

  1. fiascorally says:

    How can a rally be starting seven miles from my house and I not know about it until four days beforehand? Unfortunately, I’m already triple booked, but maybe I’ll throw triangles out around my yard, since the road in front of my house is probably in the route book (Audi guys have run a TSD on it before, and I’d be lying if I didn’t say the roads weren’t a reason why I live where I do). Bon chance, Steve!

    • It would have been great to see you at the rally. I was thinking you recently as I was looking at a book about the English Ford rally cars like the Cosworth Sierra. Many times I wish that I still had my old Merkur XR4Ti.
      Steve McKelvie

  2. Steve, just remember the old rally credo (in exactly this order):
    1) Stay on the Road
    2) Stay on the Route
    3) Stay on Time
    Have Fun

  3. Jim Jurgenson says:

    Thanks for the update, a NE rallye is on my list for events to attend.

  4. Gary Hamilton says:

    Steve:
    Luckily for me your Navigator had to bail at the last minute. This gave me the opportunity to drive with an experienced Navigator.
    I have not rallied for almost 15 years and the ones I were in were not at a competitive level.
    The course was challenging along with the snow pack and rural roads, as well as the RI’s that kept us on our toes.
    I’m sure I can speak for both of us that we were pleasantly surprised with the outcome!
    Hope to do it again soon!

    Gary Hamilton

Leave a Reply

