Sebastien Loeb To Compete In The Dakar Rally 2015?

This is just pure speculation, but I would not be surprised to find out that multi-time World Rally Champion Sebastien Loeb will compete in the Dakar Rally in 2015.  I base this thought on several things.  This first thing is the extended visit by Loeb to the Dakar 2014.  I have seen a number of photos of Loeb at Dakar which suggests to me that he was there for a couple of days to take a good look around and to get a feel for the event.

I am reminded of the first time that I recall Loeb testing the water at the WRC level.  I believe that he first went to Mexico and just did the recce, plus stick around to spectate at the Mexican round of the WRC that year.  I think that he is essentially doing the same thing at Dakar 2014.

Loeb at Dakar

Stephane Peterhansel, Sebastien Loab, Carlos Sainz, and Nani Roma At Dakar 2014

Sebastien Loeb is only about 39 – 40 years old.  He has absolutely nothing to prove about his ability to drive a car.  He is one of the best ever.  I just can’t imagine him wanting to sit around polishing his trophies.  He is young, talented, and has time on his hands.  Competing at Dakar and not winning would not diminish his reputation, as the Dakar Rally is so difficult, therefore there is little downside to compete in the Dakar Rally.  The above photo shows him hanging around with other Dakar drivers in 2014 and I think that he wants to be part of the action.  And I think that he thinks that his skills are sufficient to compete with the current drivers at the Dakar.

Remember that he took on the Pikes Peak Hill Climb in 2013.  This shows me that he has a strong interest in new challenges.

We will just have to see if my speculation turns out to be right or not.  Watch the entry list for the 2015 Dakar Rally.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

