Another Thompson Speedway Road Course Layout Post

This past week I was in email contact with John Piekarczyk, Jr. who is the president of the Minuteman Section of the Mercedes-Benz Club of America.  I also am a member of the Minuteman Section of the Mercedes-Benz Club of America.  The club is planning on holding an autocross event at Thompson Speedway on May 24, 2013 and I am going to take my little Mercedes-Benz 230SLK to Thompson Speedway to take on the other big Mercs.  This should be fun.

John noted that he grew up at Thompson and lives 2 miles from the track.  His parents were best friends with the Hoenigs.  John also used the Thompson Speedway road course as his personal test track when he raced karts.

John directed me to a great webpage that had some information on the Thompson Speedway road course layouts:  http://coldplugs.com/thompson_raceway05.htm

On that website there were some aerial photographs on which the previous road course layouts were drawn.  In order for me to make more sense of these layouts, as compared to the sketches that I had prepared based on information provided by Ted Goddard, I have copied those aerial photographs and rotated them to, more or less, the same alignment as the sketches that I made.  The results are shown below.

Thompson Sometimes Called 1(rotated)

This Layout Is Referred To As Layout #2 In My Sketches

The layout below, which compared to my Layout #3, extends further to the south than I had shown.  This might have been because my base working drawing did not extend that far south.

Thompson Sometimes Called 2(rotated)

This Layout Is Referred To As Layout #3 In My Sketches

My sketches, which I have referenced, are included in a post that I made to this website on November 29, 2013.

Thompson Sometimes Called 3(rotated)

This Layout Is Referred To As Layout #4 In My Sketches

I want to thank John Piekarczyk, Jr. for directing me to some good information about the Thompson Speedway layouts over the years.  By the way, if you are interested in Mercedes-Benz cars, then contact the Mercedes-Benz Club of America, and in particular, if you are in the Boston, Massachusetts area, then check out the Minuteman Section on the following website:  www.mbca.org/minuteman

Come to Thompson Speedway in May for the autocross!

In addition to the post that I made on November 29, 2013, you can also see my post on the new Thompson road course track layout and site visit on November 16, 2013.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

