2013 Frost Heaves Rally

On March 23, 2013 the New England Region of the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) held the Frost Heaves rally that this was based on New Hampton, New Hampshire.  I was not entered in this rally, but I volunteered to help with the timing controls.

IMG_4069

Frost Heaves Started At “The 104 Diner”

 The rally started at “The 104 Diner” in New Hampton which was an excellent choice.  After my drive up to New Hampshire from Massachusetts, it was a treat to get some good food at “The 104 Diner”.  I have found that most places that are “diners” are good places for breakfast, and this is one of them.

IMG_4068

Rally Cars Gathering At The Start Location

The Frost Heaves rally got underway at 9:00 AM.  I was assigned to do the timing at Controls 2, 5, 10, and 12.  As I was doing the second control, I left the start area in lots of time to reach timing line for Control #2.  The control location was identified by two pieces of duct tape on a small tree that the rallymaster, Scott Beliveau, had placed when he laid out the rally.

Once I got to the location of a control point, I set out the orange checkpoint board and the air-activated timing line.  The image below shows a typical set up at the control location.  There is an air pressure activated switch, which is located in an orange box on the other side of the checkpoint board.  This switch sends a signal through a wire that is connected to the remote activation port in a Timewise 610 rally timer clock that was located in my car.

IMG_4075

Control Set-Up With My Subaru Outback

Inside my car, I had added an array of equipment to make it a little more convenient for me.  As I would be operating by myself, I needed to be able to do the navigating and the driving at the same time as I made my way from control to control.  Further, I needed something to keep me entertained while I was waiting for the rally cars to show up at the control.  The photo below shows the set-up that I had in the Subaru Outback:

  • Timewise 610 timing clock sitting on the dash above the steering wheel
  • Alfa Pro rally odometer which made it easier to the follow the rally route instructions when locating the control locations. The ability to run the odometer in reverse was especially useful when traveling in the opposite direction from the given tulip instructions in order to get to the control location.
  • Garmin GPS for “look ahead” map capabilities
  • Magellan 315 GPS which I didn’t use, but would have been very useful if the control locations had been defined by coordinates
  • XM Satellite Radio so I could listen to “Willie’s Roadhouse”, even in the wilds of New Hampshire
  • Thermal coffee cup for a hot coffee on a cold day

IMG_4078

Set-Up Inside My Subaru Outback

The rallymaster, Scott Beliveau, explained to me that it might be difficult for me to time all of the cars at Control #2, pack up the control equipment, travel to Control #5 and get set-up in time to time the cars at Control #5.  We also developed a “Plan B” in case I did not make it on time.  It did turn out to be difficult to get there in time.  However Scott had set-up the Checkpoint sign and the timing line and clock at Control #5 before I got there.  I managed to get to Control #5 about 30 seconds before the first car arrived and as a result I was able to time all of the cars at Control #5.  I must say that I had an interesting drive between the locations of Control #2 and Control #5.

At the other control locations during the day, Scott Beliveau, would arrive at the checkpoint or control locations well before any cars showed up to confirm that the control was located in the proper location, set up properly, and to ensure that I had all of the needed paperwork and forms to record the time for the rally cars at each control.

IMG_4082

The Rallymaster, Scott Beliveau, Approaching To Check The Control At Control #10

The among the rally cars entered were a couple of interesting rally cars. Among them was a car that is not commonly seen – a Mitsubishi Galant VR4.  These were special built all-wheel drive Mitsubishi Galants that really were the prototype cars for the more well-known Mitsubishi Evo model.  These cars were imported in limited numbers into the United States and each one is numbered with a special dash plague.  I have competed in a couple of rallies in one of these cars a few years ago and they are very good performing cars.  I can still clearly remember a driver showing me how fast the Mitsubishi Galant VR4 could accelerate across a Home Depot parking lot in Marlborough, Massachusetts.  It was particularly impressive, as he had installed a launch control system in the car!  Quite a car!  If you are looking for a future collectible car from the late 1980s and early 1990s era, then I would recommend the Mitsubishi Galant VR4.

IMG_4093

Mitsubishi Galant VR4 With The Team of Andrew Pascarella/Stephanie Ideman

Another interesting car was the Audi 4000 Quattro entered by Andre Perron/Jeremy Perron.  I have competed in a number of stage rallies in an Audi 4000 Quattro and they are very durable rally cars.  Fewer and fewer of them are seen every year.

IMG_4097

Audi 4000 Quattro With The Team of Andre Perron/Jeremy Perron

The Stock Class winners at the 2013 Frost Heaves rally were the husband and wife team of Dave and Diane Guertin from Vermont in their BMW.  The photo below shows them approaching Control #10.

IMG_4085

Dave Guertin/Diane Guertin In Their BMW

The Class A and the Overall winner of the 2013 Frost Heave rally was the team of Michelle Durick/John Buffum in a Mazda.  Most people know John as the many-time USA rally champion and WRC rally driver with Triumph and Audi, but John is also a very competent rally navigator, as evidenced in his navigating the winning car in the 2013 Frost Heaves rally.  And as John noted, Michelle did a great job of driving.

IMG_4091

Michelle Durick/John Buffum Were The Overall Winners of the 2013 Frost Heaves Rally

After the rally ended, we reconvened at “The 104 Diner” for dinner, final tabulation of the scores, general shooting of the breeze, and the rally awards.  It was a very good rally and I really enjoyed helping out.  It was a good, satisfying day.  I would recommend that everyone interested in car rallying volunteer to help out at a rally and join the fun.

The results of the 2013 Frost Heaves rally are shown in the attached pdf file: 2013 Frost Heaves Rally Results

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

