I Acquired Vintage Canadian Winter Rally License Plates

I recently acquired three license plates from the Canadian Winter Rally.  The plates are from the years 1959, 1960, and 1962.  I bought these license plates from a fellow in Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada.

The Canadian Winter Rally plate below from 1959 was a plate that one of the rally officials used during the rally.

IMG_3950

1959 Canadian Winter Rally “Official” License Plate

The Canadian Winter Rally plate below from 1960 is in very good condition and shows no marks to indicate that the plate ever was mounted on a rally car.  This must have been a left-over plate.

IMG_3949

1960 Canadian Winter Rally License Plate

The 1962 Canadian Winter Rally license plate shown below has signs that it was mounted on a rally competitor’s car and perhaps for a period of time after that.

IMG_3952

A Well Used 1962 Canadian Winter Rally License Plate

These plates were manufactured from a relatively thick sheet metal plate and as a result, they are significantly heavier than normal license plates.  I am pleased that I was able to acquire these plates and I will be mounting them on a wall in my house.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Acquired Vintage Canadian Winter Rally License Plates

  1. Mike Nilson says:

    Nice Find

    • Yes, I was pleased to come across them. It really was by chance. I also have five Canadian Winter Rally finisher’s badges for the years 1963, 1968, 1969, 1970, and 1971.

      Steve

      • George Stein says:

        I was in the 1959 rally that started at Rootes Motors in Toronto and had a finishing badge mounted on the front of my car. The badge went with the car when I sold it but now wish I had saved it. Great that you have a few. The plates above were a good find as well. They were used by officials on the course but looks like the cars had them mounted during the following years.At the time, I was the youngest ever to compete in the winter rally at the age of 18. I still have vivid memories of this event and can almost see the route in my dreams. Great experience.

      • You were indeed fortunate to have been able to compete in this rally. I am glad that I have been able to acquire some plates and Finisher’s Medal. I would like to get more info from the Canadian Winter Rally.

        Steve McKelvie

  2. Brian McNamara says:

    I have a 1968 Canadian winter rally license plate. Condition good to very good.

  3. Lloyd says:

    Hi Steve, I just acquired a trophy from the winter rally of 1959…..2nd place

Leave a Reply

