Books About The 1997 Peking to Paris Rally

This week I was pleased to add another book to my automotive library.  The new book is yet another book about the 1997 Peking to Paris Rally.  The book is entitled “Border Crossing” written by Rosie Thomas after she competed in this great rally, so while the book is new to me, it was written in 1998.

This book will join two other books that I have on the 1997 Peking to Paris rally.  The book shown below “Rallying in Rolls Royce” written by Jeanne Eve is a very useful book that has a lot of good information about how they prepared for the rally.  This appears to be a self-published book from Australia.  My copy is autographed by Ms Eve.

The other book that I have on this rally is “Prince Borghese’s Trail” written by Genevieve Obert.  Ms Obert competed in this rally with Linda Dodwell in the 1997 Peking to Paris Rally and they won the Women’s Cup.  This book about her experiences won her a Motor Press Guild Dean Batchelor Award.  Unfortunately Genevieve Obert died in 2003 at the young age of 44.  Ms Obert was a writer who participated in numerous classic rallies.  Her work regularly appeared in publications such as Bimmer, Excellence, and AutoWeek.

While I have these three books about the 1997 Peking to Paris Rally and even watched a television series about this rally on The History Channel, it seems that the two more recent runnings of this rally in 2007 and 2010 have not spawned near the interest in the written word about those events.  Perhaps some books about these Peking to Paris rallies are out there, but I am not aware of them.  The next Peking to Paris Rally will be run again in 2013.  So while it is unlikely that I will have the opportunity to compete in this event, it is enjoyable to read about this long, challenging rally.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Books About The 1997 Peking to Paris Rally

  1. Jeanne Eve says:

    Dear Steve,
    Delighted you have my book in your library and glad you found it useful . Thanks for highlighting it on your August 2012 blog. I am sure you’ll enjoy Rosie Thomas’ book and we were all sad when
    Genevieve died. Her book really is a treasure.
    Just found your website. It is interesting and easy to use..
    Happy navigating!
    Jeanne Eve.

    • Hi Jeanne,
      I am honoured that you have contacted me. Your book is very interesting and useful. Well done! I am glad that it is part of my library.
      Not surprisingly, all of the books have different viewpoint which makes them all interesting despite being about the same event!

      I’m glad that you found my website interesting.

      Regards,
      Steve

  2. Roberto Chiodi says:

    Hi Steve,
    I raced three Pe-Pa (1997, 2007 and 2016). I wrote “Due mondi visti da un’Alfa”,
    about 2007 edition and is ready “Eternamente Alfa” about next race. The books are in Italian language. Tell me of you are interested. I hope to start again in 2019…
    Roberto Chiodi

    • Hi Roberto,
      Your participation history in the Peking To Paris event is very impressive. I am interested in the books, but alas my Italian language skills are non-existent. Would it be possible for you to email an image of the cover of these books to me so that could post these on my website? My email address is as follows: shanna12 at comcast dot net
      Steve McKelvie

    • Roberto Chiodi says:

      “Eternamente Alfa” about 2016 edition…

Leave a Reply

