A 1929 Chevrolet: A Car From My Past

This past week I came across some old photographs that I have which I hope to scan in the next few months in order to share them with my daughter.  One photo that caught me eye was of a 1929 Chevrolet Sedan.  This picture was taken during a parade in Shelburne, Ontario in August 1986.

A 1929 Chevrolet Sedan

What is important to me is that I knew the owner of this car and we had hung around together for a while when we were in high school.  We used to drive this 1929 Chevrolet around town and on the surrounding back roads.  I won’t admit to anymore than that.

This was an important car for Chevrolet, as 1929 marked the introduction of their new inline 6-cylinder overhead valve engine which they would use for more than 40 years.  This 1929 version of the “Stovebolt Six” had a displacement of 194 cubic inches (3.2 litres) and produced 46 horsepower at 2,600 rpm.  The car drove quite well and would keep up with traffic, but it was a modest performer in keeping with its era.  At the time I knew the car, it was quite reliable.

An Advertisement For A 1929 Chevrolet

I notice that the Sport Coupe shown in the advertisement above has the same color scheme as the 1929 Chevrolet Sedan in Shelburne.

It has been a few years since I have talked to the owner of the 1929 Chevrolet Sedan, so I do not know of its current condition. However, this photo brought back memories.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A 1929 Chevrolet: A Car From My Past

  1. Mike says:

    Hi I just purchased a 1929 chevy 2 dr sedan an all I can find on iT for serial numbers is a plate on engine firewall the say general motors of oshawa then job # an a body # is this the Vin number or registry is there a real ownership or wat an how do I go about getting one …mike 416 878 8808 . Thxs for your time

  2. Norm says:

    That’s a 1930 / 31 Ford Model A. Gas cap on the cowl, 5 bolt wire wheel’s, Ford bumper and medallions, Ford headlights, Quail rad cap. Compare hood louvers on the A to the Chevy car ad.

Leave a Reply

