2012 Alcan 5000 Rally Day 4 Standings

The 2012 Alcan 5000 Rally is certainly turning out to be a real winter rally.  I got a note from Bob Vogel saying that they were holed up in Eagle Plains, Yukon waiting for the Dempster Highway to be opened up as a result of a major storm.  The route of the rally is to continue north along the Dempster Highway as far north as Tuktoyaktuk on the Arctic Ocean.

From what I can determine Eagle Plains is a small, service center type community that is located about 15 to 20 miles south of the Arctic Circle.

Bob sent me an interim scoring report for the rally as of the end of Day 4.  It is still early, but you can see from the interim scoring that some teams are doing quite well.

2012 Alcan 5000 Rally Day 4 Interim Scoring Sheet

It now appears due to the time lost in the rally due to bad weather that the official rally route will be revised to go back south from Eagle Plains towards Dawson City, Yukon.  However in a brief note from Bob Vogel, Bob said that he and seven other cars are going to continue north from Eagle Plains, temporarly leaving the rally route.  I am not surprised by Bob’s decision.  Knowing Bob’s previous winter/northern driving adventures, I know that he will not be denied crossing the Arctic Circle when he is just 15 to 20 miles south of the Arctic Circle.  And I know that Bob wants to drive to the Arctic Ocean.  Further it does not surprise me that others share those same goals.

Clearly the 2012 Alcan 5000 Rally has been a real northern adventure!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2012 Alcan 5000 Rally Day 4 Standings

  1. jakxi2012 says:

    Hi Steve,
    Thanks so much for posting these results. My husband is the driver of car #22 and this is the only news I’ve been able to find so far. It’s great to see they’re doing just fine!
    If you do get any further news, please post it, I’d really appreciate it.
    Thanks again,
    Wendy.

    • Hi Wendy,
      I will post more information a I get it. The internet connections are not that great and the contestants are busy. If you get any information, please either send it to me via email or post it a comment.

      Regards,
      Steve
      shanna12 at comcast dot net

  2. Peter Schneider says:

    Thanks for the update on the results, hopefully you can post the final results over the weekend. – I have worked the event 3 times and ran the event in 2004.

    • Hi Peter,
      I am waiting (and hoping) to get an update soon. Today is the scheduled end of the rally, so I hope that someone will send me the final results.

      I am aware of your success in this event.

      Regards,
      Steve

Leave a Reply

