My Car Of The Year for 2011!

I doubt that the world really needs another “Car of the Year” award; however, I am not going to let that stop me from chosing my own Car of the Year.  During the Christmas holidays, I spent two days driving mostly on Interstate Highways with my wife sleeping in the back seat of the car, so I had lots of time to contemplate such things as a “Car Of The Year”.

I concluded that a “Car Of The Year” must be a car that was newsworthy, or made a significant design or commercial impact, and/or accomplished an amazing feat – perhaps a vehicle might have achieved notable accomplishments in more than one of these categories.  I also thought that there should be three finalists in order for the Steve McKelvie “Car Of The Year” to be a proper award. Therefore, first of all let me introduce, in no particular order, the three finalists for the Steve McKelvie Car Of The Year:

Fiat 500

This small car focused attention, once again, on how cool a small car can be.  Having “cool” small cars is important in the long process of reducing energy consumption in North America.  I think that this car will be seen as an important car in changing the thinking by North American buyers of the importance of size in their choice of cars.

The New Fiat 500 Is A Landmark Car in North America

2011 Red Bull Racing Formula 1 Car

In 2011 Sebastian Vettel completely dominated Formula 1 racing in the Red Bull Racing Car.  In addition, his Red Bull team mate Mark Weber had a good season and always qualified well, demonstrating the superiority of the Reb Bull cars in the high tech world of Formula 1 racing, where some of the world’s best car designers, engineers, and mechanics are in head-to-head competition to create very fast, reliable cars to race on the world’s race tracks.

2011 Red Bull Racing Formula 1 Car

The Ferrari in Newfoundland Water

At this year’s Targa Newfoundland a $1.5M Ferrari Enzo wound up in the water during the Marystown stage.  This “Boo Boo” spread all around the world in no time at internet speed.  Therefore, for its newsworthyness, I have included the waterlogged Ferrari Enzo as a finalist for the Steve McKelvie Car Of The Year.

Ferrari Enzo In the Water in Marystown, Newfoundland

And the winner is….   After some considerable analysis, the inaugural winner of the Steve McKelvie Car Of The Year is the 2011 Red Bull Racing Formula 1 car.  This car demonstrated complete superiority at the world’s highest level of motor racing competition in 2011 and for that reason it was selected as the Car Of The Year.

I concluded that it might be a little early to properly judge the commercial success of the Fiat 500 and that the really impressive news story about the waterlogged Ferrari Enzo will be a story about the restoration of this car.

If either Christian Horner or Sebastian Vettel wants to come my house to pick up the calipers that are emblematic of this prestigous award, please have them send me an email, so that I can be home to make the presentation. As this is the end of the Christmas season with the upcoming credit card reckoning looming over my head, the postage fund to forward the calipers directly to Christian Horner or Sebastian Vettel is non-existant.  Until then, the calipers will remain in safe keeping in the top drawer of my tool box.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Car Of The Year for 2011!

  1. El Ronbo says:

    Oh man, you’re missing out on some great stuff that was introduced this year:

    BMW 1 series, taking the company back to its roots. Its a modern version of the 2002, but with that monster 300 hp twin turbo six available. There’s even an M version if you want to drop $50K.

    Chevy Volt – everyone who drives one is quite impressed with this car. You get the low cost of an electric -if you commute is less than 50 miles roundtrip a day, you won’t need to use any gas. But if you are going farther, you have the convenience of being able to just put gas in it and go.

    Tesla Model S – all-electric luxury sedan, on par with a Mercedes S class, with the federal tax credit on EVs the starting price (nicely equipped) is $50K.

    Ford Mustang – this year saw two new motors, a V6 with over 300 hp that get 30 mpg and has the performance of the previous year’s V8. And a new V8 with 412 horsepower – I drove one from Miami down to the Keys, and let me tell you that thing is a rocketship! Toss in Sync – without looking at the manual, we had Pandora streaming from our phone through the stereo in minutes – and you have a lot of car for well under $30K.

    The Fiat 500? I want to like this car, and on paper its cool. But see one in person – its too tiny, Americans will never go for it. For the same money you can get a Jetta, or a Civic, with far more interior room.

    • I did think about other cars to make the final three.

      I did a brief review and post on the newset version of the BMW 1 Series and I felt by that making the newest BMW 1 Series bigger than the previous BMW 1 Series was heading in the wrong direction.

      The Chevy Bolt was tarnished in my mind from stories that I had heard about some sort of spontaneous battery fires. I don’t know all of the story behind this, but this negative publicity was sufficient in my mind to be a disqualifier as a Car Of The Year.

      The Tesla Model S is interesting, as are all of the Tesla cars, but I felt that the production numbers of these vehicles was too small and the fact that government subsidies are provided are not the stuff of a Car Of The Year.

      I will confess to not having given the Mustang its due respect. Perhaps it’s that great performances from a Mustang have become commonplace.

      Your comment about the size of the Fiat 500 is my point. It is pointing to a future with smaller cars. In fact, if a Jetta or Civic is considerd a large car due to a comparison with the Fiat 500, then the Fiat 500 would have achieved what I hope it will do, which is reduce the size of cars aon the road.

      Regards,
      Steve McKelvie

Leave a Reply

