A Look at My Past Targa Newfoundland Events

My first Targa Newfoundland was in 2003 when I was navigating for Harald von Langsdorff in his 2002 MINI.  I had a terrific time during that event and it is one of my favorite memories.

Harald von Langsdorff and I At Targa Newfoundland in 2003

Since Targa Newfoundland in 2003 Harald & I have competed in many rallies of all kinds together in various cars in Canada, the United States, and recently in Germany.

The following year I was the co-driver for Rick MacLeod in his Mustang convertible.  This was a fast, fun car with an open top and hundreds of horsepower.  Earlier that year, while competing in the Nevada Open Road Challenge, we had that car going 170 miles per hour!

Rick MacLeod & I at Targa Newfoundland in 2004

After running with Rick in Targa Newfoundland in 2004, Rick wanted the advantages of a stiffer body offered by a sedan style with a full roll cage.  As a result, Rick sold the open top Mustang but put the racing engine in the new Mustang.  Rick & I then competed with this Mustang at Targa Newfoundland in 2005, 2006, 2007, and 2008.

Rick MacLeod & I at Targa Newfoundland in 2006

This year Rick MacLeod & I will be opening a new chapter at Targa Newfoundland when we compete with his Porsche Cayenne in the Grand Touring Class.  I look forward to a new challenge.

I hope that I will have a chance to provide some updates on this website during next week’s Targa Newfoundland, but that remains to be seen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Look at My Past Targa Newfoundland Events

  1. silverbaron says:

    You and Rick have been great ambassadors for the Targa and the “Rally against MS”.
    I had a wonderful first rally experience there with you co-driving some years ago. I remember we finished 2nd, so I expect nothing less than a podium this time 🙂
    All the best to you two.

    • Hi Harald,
      I remember saying to you that our experience at Targa would be difficult to top and that I would be disappointed if we didn’t top it. I am certainly using our 2nd place finish in 2003 as a benchmark for Rick & I this time. So I’m feeling a lot of substantial amount of self-imposed pressure to do well. In 2003, that was our first Targa Newfoundland event, now I know a lot more about the event, so the excuses for a poor finish are very limited. I’m sure that our competitors are just as keen to do well. Even one small mistake can make a big difference in the finishing position.

      Thanks for your comments and I’ll have lots of stories for you when I get back.

      Regards,
      Steve

Leave a Reply

