2011 Lime Rock Historic Festival Eye Candy

Yesterday I rode my motorcycle over to the Lime Rock Historic Festival at the Lime Rock race track in north west Connecticut.  Because I took the scenic backroads, this was a 3 1/2 to 4 hour one-way trip.  But it was a great ride with a great destination.

Bob Melhado, Chief Steward at the Lime Rock Historic Festival for the last 23 years, was a helpful host for me.  It was very good to see and talk with him again.  Bob knows many of the people at the event and has a number of car-related stories.  I was pleased that Bob introduced me to Howard Kroplick, who has a 1909 ALCO-6 racer that took part in the first running of the Indianapolis 500 in 1911.  I will have more on this car in a subsequent posting.

I will feature some of the cars that I saw at the Lime Rock Historic Festival at a later date, but I thought that at this time I would present a few cars that I saw as some Labor Day weekend eye candy.

1956 Ferrari 500 TR Prototype

 

1958 Devin Special

 

1974 BMW 3.0 CS Alpina

 

Volvo P1800S

 

Jaguar was the featured marque at the 2011 Lime Rock Historic Festival

 

There were some nice Alfa Romeo cars at the Lime Rock Historic Festival

 

An Aston Martin DBR1 Won Le Mans in 1959

 

Not Your Typical Jaguar! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2011 Lime Rock Historic Festival Eye Candy

  1. Walt Kammer says:

    Do you recall if the Devin belongs to Rich Taylor?

Leave a Reply

